20 Apr



GururBrahma GururVishnuhu Guruddevo Maheswaraha

 Gurussakshaath Parabramha tasmaisri Guraveh namaha.

The guru–shishya tradition is a fundamental component of Hinduism. "Upanishad"  means "sitting down near" that is to sit near a spiritual scholar to receive instruction. In the Vedas, the knowledge of Brahman is communicated from guru to sishya by oral lore. The Vedic culture of guru–shishya tradition, or parampara is a succession of spiritual teacher and aspirant which is seen in Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism and Buddhism.

Guru is he who satisfies the spiritual hunger of the aspirant. Once entering Ascetic life aspirant out of respect and devotion worships Guru’s Guru, and also the guru’s preceding that guru. Various terms in this hierarchy of gurus have specific titles. 

They are:-

Guru = One’s spiritual teacher who ordains him-immediate guru.

Parama Guru = Guru’s Guru - the guru of the parampara

Paraatpara Guru = Parama Guru’s Guru- source of knowledge for many generations

Parameshti Guru = Parama Guru’s Guru – guru who has powers to bestow moksha

Each parampara follows a specific sampradaya  - teachings and ideals at gurukulas. After initiation into the parampara of a living guru, aspirant then belongs to its proper sampradaya and not by birth.

 The knowledge of the Brahman is passed onto to the aspirant by the Guru. The literature says,” Only when one is initiated by a spiritual master of the particular parmpara/tradition he is in, the mantra he might have received is of effect.”

 Once the student is well versed in the knowledge bestowed by the guru, he follows his guru and leads the lineage. Thus the lineage continues.

 Here are a total of four sampradayas of which it is said three are from the beginning of the creation & there is the Kumara-sampradaya, descending from Sanat-kumara. These Sampradayas worship the Supreme Lord Visnu, in His different expansions.

They are:-

• The Brahma-sampradaya

• Laxmi Sampradaya

• Siva Sampradaya  

• Kumar Sampradaya

  Lord Caitanya asserts that jivatma is the servant of the Lord.

• Vishnuswami , Madhvacarya, Ramanujacharya and Nimbaditya are seen as succssors of Vamana, Brahma, Ananta Sesha and       Sanaka Kumara respectively.

 The lineage of each of the above sampradayas are as follows:-

• Brahma Sampradaya:-Brahma =>Madhava sampradaya=>Gaudiya=>Sankaracharya

• Lakshmi Sampradaya:- Ramanuja Sampradaya => Visnuswami Sampradaya => Vallabha Sampradaya

• Kumara Sampradaya :- Nimbarka Sampradaya => Nimbaditya Sampradaya => Sanakadi Sampradaya

Om Tat Sat.

Pick one of the Yoga programs and you get a meditation class for free